It’s okay to be wrong

*Disclaimer: I am in no need forcing one to believe in something that they do not. I am not writing this blog post to cause any political debate. Everyone has their reasons for the candidate they decide to or do not decide to vote for and I totally respect your choice.

To admit our wrongs can seem like ripping the end of a wax strip, sharp and painful. Sometimes we do not want to mention our wrongness to others because who does not want to be seen as wrong? In our moments of wrong, I feel that our reputation are on the line and that is why I think we strive to make our side of the story to sound the least wrong. Overhearing multiple views of the United States 2016 election has made me think skeptically about the wrongs of our candidates. On one side you hear that Donald Trump, a billionaire business man from the state of New York, from the looks of social media seen as a man known for handling with money and being a white supremacist racist, which I cannot say it is totally true. Perhaps Trump can lead us out of our nearly 18 trillion dollar debt deficiency and push this nation forward economically regardless of his previous bankruptcies. Yet I doubt that this nation could only be run or seen through the lens of an economist. While Hillary Clinton, the spouse of previous 42nd president of the United States Bill Clinton and 2009 Secretary of State from the state of Illinois, by social media is seen as a woman without original ideas and jumping to the most popular answer to win the votes of the voters. Although Clinton does uphold a lot of promises which I am not sure she will be able to keep them all but she seems to be more well rounded when it comes to handling issues with the economy and with social issues. With politics you never really know who is telling the truth or when someone is emphasizing on the wrongs rather than for what the whole person’s characteristics entitle. This is the reason why I do not speak on the behalf of politics because I never know the whole story, by the time the stories get out to the public it has probably been altered by journalists or editors before it hits the platform. I can tell you what I think, but I cannot tell you what is true or false. That is something for you to decide on.

Despite the number of times we have been wrong about someone or about a situation, to make error is a necessary element of maturing and allowing one to understand the other side of the story. I hate being wrong as much as the next person and while I was younger I was not so great at admitting to my errors. Even as I become more of a young adult, this skill of admitting when I am wrong is something I struggle to define. Researching about a topic or reading about it has been something I have done at an early age and even with that I still believe I can be wrong. Like when a story leaves you on a cliffhanger and you are left wondering what is left to be discovered. To be wrong can bring embarrassment and that feeling is not so glamorous but I am more willing to say that yeah I could be wrong or I am wrong, teach me why I am wrong. Now just because you may be wrong that does not make the next person right. The next person could be a little less wrong than you or just as wrong but I would still be open to hear what they have to say. Who knows that what they have to say is the missing piece of information you need to know to understand why someone or something are perceived in that manner. We are wrong everyday no matter how careful we are and whether we know we are wrong or not. As human, we are prone to create error. Lots of error too. Error is unavoidable and the sooner we realize that, the sooner we are able to discuss our wrongness and move on.

What has been an error you committed and how did you handle that?

xx Chavelita

Leave a comment